Go Back
The Demigod Diaries
Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Penguin Books
ISBN: 9780141344379
Pages: 250
Add to Booklist
Bookmark and Share
Rick Riordan created a fantasy series based on Greek and Roman mythology. The Percy Jackson and The Olympian series became hugely popular. He then created sequel series to the Percy Jackson books, the Heroes of Olympus.

This book, The Demigod Diaries, contains stories that feature characters from both these series. Some stories provide background info, while others are just new stories featuring these characters.

The main characters are demigods, that is children who are born out of the union of a God and a Human. This book contains four main stories. The first, The Diary of Luke Castellan, is set before the events of the first Percy Jackson story, The Lightning Thief. The second story is told from Percy’s point of view. In Percy Jackson and The Staff of Hermes, Percy and Annabeth try to help the god Hermes locate his lost staff. It has been stolen by a fire breathing ogre. This story is set after the events of The Last Olympian.

The third story is set in Camp Half-Blood. Leo Valdez and Jason and Piper are chased around by crazy Maenads while they try to prevent Camp Half-Blood from being leveled to the ground by an explosion. The final story in the book is Son of Magic. This story is written by the author Rick Riordan’s son Haley. In this writing debut, he writes about an outcast demigod. It features the children of the Greek Goddess of Magic, Hecate.
Besides these stories, The Demigod Diaries also features interviews with some of the main characters, new pictures of some characters, a quiz and some puzzles.